Skip to content

RCHS newspaper and yearbook earn best of Colorado awards

The Rock newspaper staff (top) and the Black and Gold yearbook staff (bottom) at Rock Canyon High School. The teams earned multiple awards from the Colorado Student Media Association’s Best of Colorado awards.

By Lisa Nicklanovich; photos courtesy of Kristi Rathbun

Rock Canyon High School (RCHS) students on the staff of The Rock newspaper and the Black and Gold yearbook entered their work from this past school year in the Colorado Student Media Association’s Best of Colorado Awards competition and the results are something to be proud of.

The Rock newspaper earned eight awards and the Black and Gold yearbook earned 12. Alec Sutula, senior at RCHS, Castle Pines resident and recipient of two awards said, “I believe we won awards because of the unbeatable dedication and effort of every student and staff member. The content in each article was very well written and the design was pretty special. Weeks of preparation went into articles, from the story planning to design planning and interviews. We all do so much to try and produce the best paper we can.”

The students were competing with student journalists, designers and photographers from all over Colorado. Kristi Rathbun, advisor for the yearbook and the student newspaper said, “I’m incredibly proud of the professionalism and the quality of work that our students produce. Colorado student media is actually pretty competitive, so these awards are a strong representation of some of the top work in the country, let alone Colorado. Our students work hard – and they’re pretty brave too. I like to remind them that they are some of the only students in the school whose homework is published.”

To see the award-winning work, visit Here are the names of the award-winners (80108 residents are noted with “CP”):

The Rock Newspaper
1st place Facing Pages Design – Emily Humes; 1st place Sports Feature – Makenna Allen and Alec Sutula (CP); 2nd place Lifestyle News Feature – Sam Keer and Alex Shaffer; 3rd place Alternative Coverage Treatment – Amanda Brauchler; 3rd place In-Depth Sports Coverage – Makenna Allen and Alec Sutula (CP); Honorable Mention Critical Review – Alex Shaffer; Honorable Mention Editorial Cartoon – Ryan Fincher; Honorable Mention News Feature – Makenna Allen and Olivia Allen.

The Black and Gold Yearbook
1st place Alternative Presentation – Sanjana Nandy, 1st place Sports Writing – Amanda Brauchler and Izzy Holsman (CP); 2nd place Sports Reaction Photo and Caption – Daniel Deschane (CP) and Paige Pecoraro; 2nd place Student Life Individual Photo – Daniel Deschane (CP); 2nd place Student Life Writing – Amanda Brauchler (CP) and Izzy Holsman (CP); 3rd place Academics Spread – Katie Cranston (CP), Eryn Collins and Sadie Rawson; 3rd place Chronological Spreads – Brooklyn Jaworsky, Elise Rocke, Maggie Contos (CP), Emma Goble (CP), Ruthie Evilsizer (CP) and Amanda Gin; 3rd place Student Life Spread – Taylor Hein; Honorable Mention Clubs/Organizations Spread – Amanda Brauchler (CP) and Izzy Holsman (CP); Honorable Mention Portraits Spread – Emma Shea (CP) and Lauren Dressler (CP); Honorable Mention Theme Package – Taylor Hein, Lea McCaffrey (CP), Sanjana Nandy and Paige Pecoraro.

Congratulations to all for this amazing accomplishment and thanks for all of your hard work!



Posted in


Recent Stories