Skip to content

Senior property tax exemption deadline approaching

Information provided by the Douglas County Assessor’s Office; courtesy photo

Douglas County qualifying seniors have until July 15 to apply for the Senior Property Tax Exemption.

Taxpayers 65 years and older as of January 1 and surviving spouses of seniors who previously qualified, who have owned and occupied a property as their primary residence for at least 10 consecutive years, may qualify for the senior exemption.

For those who qualify, 50% of the first $200,000 in actual taxable value of a primary residence is exempted from property taxation. The state then reimburses the County treasurer the exempted portion of the property tax.

Photo of Seniors glad to get tax exemption

Seniors glad to get tax exemption

Once approved, the exemption remains in place until there is a change in ownership.

An applicant or married couple can apply for the exemption on only one property. That property must be his or her primary residence. Married couples and individuals who apply for the exemption on multiple properties will be denied the exemption on all properties.

For further information and to locate exemption forms, visit



Posted in


Recent Stories