Skip to content

American legion honors veterans and first responders

three men in uniform

Army veteran Dale Erickson accepts the President’s Lifetime Achievement Award for his “lifelong commitment to building a stronger nation through volunteer service.”

The American Legion 1187 in Castle Rock held its annual birthday banquet on October 14.

A special award was presented to Dale Erickson, Army veteran and founding member of Post 1187.  Erickson was presented with the President’s Lifetime Achievement Award certificate and letter issued from the White House recognizing his 7,861 hours of volunteer service to the community and country.  The minimum number of hours for consideration of the award is 4,000 hours.

Elizabeth G. Harper, co-author of I Wanted to Be a Pilot: The Making of a Tuskegee Airman was the evening’s keynote speaker.

The event also recognized area first responders and presented awards to the Douglas County Sheriff’s Office (DCSO), Castle Rock Police Department (CRPD) and Castle Rock Fire Department (CRFD).  The honorees were: DCSO Deputy Brian Sapp, CRPD Sgt. Dustin J. Frost, and CRFD Division Chief Oren Bersagel-Briese.  Chief Bersagel-Briese could not attend the banquet as he was out of town organizing a 9/11 Stair Climb project.  Gary Bersagel-Briese, father of the chief accepted the CRFD Firefighter of the Year award on behalf of the chief.

three men, one speaking

Navy veteran and 26- year law enforcement officer (18 years serving Douglas County), Deputy Brian Sapp was honored for his distinguished service.

By Hollen Wheeler; photos courtesy of American Legion 1187



Posted in ,


Recent Stories