Skip to content

News from Rock Canyon High School

by Elean Gersack

Homecoming King and Queen Crowned

Sean Byrne and Kara Salazar, both of Castle Pines North, were crowned homecoming king and queen during the RCHS homecoming football game against Prairie View on Friday, October 13. RCHS won the game 56 – 0. Bryne is a football captain who plays left guard on the offensive line and Salazar is a cheerleader. Dressed in firemen garb, Byrne, along with the other three football captains, was invited to help the fire captain control the homecoming bonfire. “It was a very cool week,” said Byrne. When the bonfire was over, Byrne even had the honor of putting the fire out.

Book Drive for Wheeling
Elementary School

The RCHS FBLA is collecting 500 children’s books for its partner school, Wheeling Elementary School in Aurora. Throughout the school year, FBLA students will be visiting the school and encouraging students with reading.

Donations are needed by January 29 so delivery can be made to the students during the week of February 9. If you wish to make a book or monetary donation to RCHS FBLA Community Service Project, please turn it in to the office or mail to:

c/o: Mrs. Robinett5810 Mc Arthur Ranch Rd.
Highlands Ranch, CO 80124

Student Awards at RCHS!

Congratulations to the following students at RCHS on recent achievements:

Drew Dalstrom tied for 12th place at the State Golf Tournament

The RCHS newspaper, The Rock,
won the 4A Sweepstakes trophy at the annual state journalism conference at CSU. Individual winners included: First Place in General Excellence – entire staff; First Place in In-Depth Centerspread (tobacco) – Nate Cook, Natasha Gingles, Kathleen Locke, Brie Smith and Susie Typher; First Place in editorial – Louisa Tur; First Place in Single Page Layout – Susie Typher; First Place in Opinion Column – Susie Typher; First Place Feature Photo – Max Rowe; Second Place in In-Depth Coverage (breast cancer) – Jennifer Prusse, Jenna Scheirman, Kate Jones and Megan McNally; Second Place Sports Photo – David Nicol; Third Place Editorial Cartoon – Chris Williams; Honorable Mention News Story – Kristen Scheirman; Honorable Mention Personality Feature – Portia Owens.

Softball Second Team all conference:
Kayla Jones (catcher), Kourtney Kleissle (outfield).

Softball Honorable Mention all conference:
Leia Swierczewski (pitcher), Kehau Gunderson (infield), Danika Barbour (utility fielder). Kayla Jones was invited to attend the 4A All-State Colorado Softball Game in Westminster on October 29th. Danika Barbour was invited as an alternate.

The DC8 Kids: Amanda Yourick
, Kevin Allen, Collin Prusse, Grant Wells, Chris Grant, Brian Rangell, John Fenton, Brad Stutzman, and Max Llannes can be seen on Douglas County Channel 8, 22, or 54 (Comcast) each month with their production of Newsline; a news program highlighting schools, programs, students, and staff around the school district.

Jim McClurg represented RCTV kids at the student Parker Film Festival with two of their comedy shorts, the “OK-GO” Routine (Nick Rush, Wes Eggett, Collin Prusse, and John Fenton), and “The Lab” (Brad Stutzman, Wes Eggett, Collin Prusse, and John Fenton). Out of 31 films submitted, both were among the seven finalists. The “OK-GO” film placed first and won a scholarship to the Denver Film School at CU-Denver.

The RCHS Yearbook Staff was excited to take home several awards from the CHSPA Journalism Convention:

Sports Photography: Second Place

Photo Spread: Honorable Mention

Theme development through Photography: Honorable Mention

Feature Writing: Honorable Mention

Cover and End Sheet Concept: First Place

Double Page Spread Design: First Place

Theme Development through Design: Third Place

Index Design: First Place

The Freshman “A” Volleyball Team finished first in their pool and second overall in their tournament at Columbine. Congratulations!

RCHS Tennis awards: Nate McGregor – 2nd Place #1 Singles, Kyle Hicks – 2nd Place #2 Singles, Jon Strickland – Regional Champion #3 Singles, Corey Tutton and Kyle Shepard – Regional Champions #1 Doubles, Sykes Mason and Trevor Yip – 3rd Place #2 Doubles, Daniel Ino and Drew Dodds – 3rd Place #3 Doubles, Daniel Adler and Andrew Wilt – 4th Place #4 Doubles.

Class of 2007 Graduation Date Announced

The first class to graduate from Rock Canyon High School, the class of 2007, will graduate on Saturday, May 25, 2007 at 11 a.m. at Shea Stadium. More details will be available in the coming months.

Save the Dates

December 7 at 7 p.m. – Choir/Orchestra Winter Concert
January 13 at 8 p.m. – Winter Formal
January 20 at 8:30 a.m. – ACT Practice Test
January 26 at 2:30 p.m. – After Prom Ticket Sales

For the latest event, activity and sport information, visit

Interested in volunteering at Rock Canyon High Sch

Contact Cathleen Mierau, Volunteer Coordinator, at 303-387-3023 or via email at



Posted in


Recent Stories