Skip to content

Castle Pines teacher named Elementary Educator of the Year

Ronda Gutierrez, physical education teacher at Buffalo Ridge Elementary school, was named Elementary Educator of the Year at the 2015 Apple Awards held on Saturday, February 21.  Read more about Ronda Gutierrez in a feature article in the February 2015 issue of The Connection. 

By Elean Gersack; photo courtesy of the Douglas County School District

On Saturday, February 21, the Douglas County Educational Foundation, together with the Douglas County School District, gathered to celebrate remarkable educators, support staff, and administrators at the 10th annual Apple Awards.  The event was held at the Sheraton Downtown Denver.

Buffalo Ridge Elementary School physical education teacher Ronda Gutierrez was named Elementary Educator of the Year.  “The more choice I give my students to meet world class outcomes, the better – and they love circus arts, and they love riding unicycles, and balancing on rolling globes, and juggling … it’s just so much fun,” said Gutierrez as she accepted her award.

According to Douglas County Educational Foundation Executive Director Jason D. Christensen, the Apple Awards goes through a lengthy, deliberate process in the selection of its finalists and winners.  This year they received more than 7,500 nominations for approximately 2,100 teachers, principals and support staff.  

“The challenge for our selection committees is having to choose from so many stellar candidates.  In the end, our finalists and winners selected have a clearly demonstrated commitment to reinventing education and preparing students with 21st century skills. The finalists and winners best represent our District’s efforts in offering a world-class education for students who are the future leaders of the nation and the world,” said Christensen.   

The Douglas County Educational Foundation and the Douglas County School District are very proud to recognize finalists Brooke Ekstrom (American Academy – Castle Pines), Melissa Leinweber (Sage Canyon Elementary), Jim McClurg (Rock Canyon High School), Corin Meibos (Buffalo Ridge Elementary), and the Elementary Educator of the Year, Ronda Gutierrez (Buffalo Ridge Elementary).



Posted in


Recent Stories