Skip to content

Low Voter Turnout in Important Castle Pines North Metro District (CPNMD) Election

by Carin Kirkegaard

The ballots are in and the votes are tallied in the 2006 Special District Election for the CPNMD. With only a six percent voter turnout, the election proved to have one of the lowest numbers of participants in CPN’s history. Out of a total of 5,644 residents eligible to vote, only 309 found the time to make it to the polls on Tuesday. Thirty-nine residents also mailed in absentee ballots.

Election Results

Two-Year Term

Jonette Brown Eyes was elected to the 2-year term position with 152 votes. She defeated Galen R. Crowder, incumbent, who received 134 votes. Former candidate Laurie O’Hara-Torres withdrew from the race last month.

Four-Year Term

Bruce J. Thompson and Ted Lohr were elected to serve the two 4-year term positions. Thompson received 199 votes and Lohr had 166 votes. Candidate Michael Gersack was narrowly defeated with 157 votes.

The new CPNMD Board will be instrumental in helping to secure future renewable water supplies for Castle Pines North (CPN). Additionally, these leaders will need to provide vision and direction for the community during the next two to four years, as the community deals with parks and open space planning, potential additional development, and many other issues that may arise.

Metro District Board meetings are typically held on the third Monday of each month at 7 p.m. at the CPN Community Center located at 7404 Yorkshire Drive. All meetings are open to the public. Agendas and more information can be found at



Posted in


Recent Stories