Skip to content

Voters to Elect Three Board Members for South Metro Fire

by Carin Kirkegaard

On May 2, voters will be electing three members to the South Metro Fire Rescue Board of Directors.

As a special district, South Metro Fire Rescue is governed by an elected board comprised of five members. In the 2006 special district election, there are three seats up for election.

There are five candidates vying for these three open positions including: Raymond A. Bullock (incumbent), Hank Eng, Stephen A. Justino, Paul Rosenberg, William P. Schaefer (incumbent), and Peter Webb (incumbent). To find out more information about these candidates, check the South Metro Fire Rescue website at

This election will be a mail-in ballot only. Registered voters should expect to see a ballot in the U.S. Mail by April 17. Should a resident not receive a ballot by mail, contact Election Official Susan Schledorn, at, or call 303-839-3912.

All ballots must be received by 7 p.m., May 2, via U.S. Mail or may be delivered by hand. A drop-off ballot box will be located at the South Metro Fire Rescue administration building, located at 9195 East Mineral. The drop-off box will be accessible Monday through Friday from 7:30 a.m. until 4:30 p.m. and until 7:00 p.m. on Election Day.

In the 2004 special district election, voters passed a mill levy increase of 2.75 mills. This increase was to generate capital improvement and replacement programs, new stations and facilities, major building repairs, and apparatus replacement. Construction of a new fire station near Daniel’s Gate was included in this mill levy vote.



Posted in


Recent Stories