Skip to content

Absolutely all fireworks BANNED

By executive order of Govenor Hickenlooper and Douglas County Sheriff David Weaver

This year, absolutely no fireworks will be allowed in Douglas County, including legal fireworks and professional fireworks displays.

The Board of County Commissioners for Douglas Country has issued a Stage 2 Fire Ban for all of Douglas County, banning all personal fireworks displays due to high fire danger. This Stage 2 ban also includes banning open fires like charcoal grills, or portable fire pits.

The ban comes on the heels of Governor John Hickenlooper’s executive order banning fireworks statewide. As recent as a few weeks ago, many cities in the county had approved legal fireworks, but due to the governor’s executive order, and the recent prohibition by the Douglas County Sheriff, all of the cities have complied with the statewide ban and absolutley no fireworks will be permitted.

The Stage 2 restrictions include the incorporated areas, and the unincorporated areas of the county, which means not only will the towns comply, but recreation areas including parks and camp grounds will be enforcing the same restrictions.

People found in violation are subject to $1,000 in fines, 180 days in jail, or both. For more information, visit the Douglas County Sheriffs Office website at



Posted in


Recent Stories