Skip to content

DC Sheriff to Honor Citizens and Employees


Sheriff David A. Weaver
4000 Justice Way Castle Rock, CO 80109

Deputy Cocha Heyden,
Public Information Officer,
303-660-7586, pgr 303-826-7822

RELEASE DATE: 05/08/09 RELEASE TIME: 9:00 am

Douglas County Sheriff Will Honor Citizens and Employees in Awards Ceremony to be Held on May 14, 2009, at the Robert A Christensen Justice Center.

Douglas County Sheriff David A. Weaver is honored to recognize several employees as well as citizens at an awards ceremony on May 14, 2009, 11:00 am in the jury assembly room of the Robert A Christensen Justice Center located at 4000 Justice Way, Castle Rock, CO. Awards to be presented will include:

Purple Heart: which is bestowed upon a deputy that has been seriously injured or killed in the line of duty

Life Saving: the saving of a citizen and/or a fellow employee

Civilian Life Saving: when a citizen interacts in a law enforcement situation and saves the life of another

Sheriff Commendation: granted by the Sheriff to any member or citizen for an outstanding act or achievement

Meritorious Conduct: awarded to members whose conduct or performance is brave, exemplary, or where a significant risk of injury to the member exits

Deputy Ron King Community Service Award

Douglas County Sheriff David A. Weaver is especially proud of these ceremonies and finds that these awards symbolize the commitment that members of the Sheriff’s Office and citizens have to their community. “I am truly humbled to be surrounded by a group of people that show true heroism and dedication on a daily basis. This makes me extremely proud to be the Sheriff of Douglas County.”

All media outlets are invited to the ceremony.

The following are the awards and recipient names:

Purple Heart: Deputy Dawn Radliff

Life Saving:

Sgt. Rich Taylor, Deputies Brian Benns, Chance Nicholson, Jeff Burke, Charles Monroe, CSVs Brian Hughes and Bill Wilson

Citizen Life Saving:

South Metro Firefighter Pete Tremewan, James Craft, Patricia Prince, Marilou Foley, Sara Lebofsky

Sheriff’s Commendation:

Castle Rock PD-Sgt. Brink, Officers DeClaire, McElroy, Finely, Leach

Meritorious Conduct:

Captain Robert McMahan, Lt. Dan McMillan, Sgt, Kevin Moffit, Deputy Greg Black & K9 Axel, Deputy Bryan Ward, and Deputy Kevin Nichols, Sgt. Rich Taylor, Deputies Brian Benns, Chance Nicholson, Jeff Burke,

Deputy Ron King Community Service Awards

Deputy Vance Fleet,



Posted in


Recent Stories